Ugreen’s New M.2 NVMe Enclosure Comes in 10Gbps and 20Gbps Flavors
Ugreen has quietly added an external M.2 NVMe drive housing to its global lineup, and the new Ugreen SSD enclosure arrives in two versions that differ only in interface speed. One is rated for 10Gbps, the other for 20Gbps, and both are built to hold NVMe drives as large as 8TB.
Two speeds, one shell

The faster model relies on USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 to reach its 20Gbps rating, while the 10Gbps version uses USB 3.2 Gen 2. Ugreen’s own promotional material labels the quicker model’s interface as USB 3.0 Gen 2, a name that does not match the 20Gbps figure; the 10Gbps model’s listed interface does line up with its advertised speed.
Apart from the interface, the two enclosures are otherwise the same product. Buyers get the same housing, the same cable arrangement, and the same set of supported drive sizes.
Drive fit and capacity
Inside, the enclosure accepts M.2 NVMe drives in four lengths: 2280, 2260, 2242 and 2230. Capacity tops out at 8TB. The brief does not specify which controller or bridge chip handles the connection, and sustained transfer rates have not been published.
Cable, adapter and cooling
Ugreen has built the USB-C cable into the enclosure rather than asking users to carry a separate one. The braided cable includes an adjustable clip, and a Type-C to Type-A adapter ships in the box so the drive can connect to older USB-A ports as well.
The aluminum housing is described by Ugreen as light and effective at dissipating heat. A thermal pad is also part of the setup. A small indicator light shows drive activity. Ugreen says installation takes four steps, though the exact procedure is not detailed in the available information.
Pricing and which one to pick
Amazon listings put the 10Gbps model at $29.99. The 20Gbps version carries a $39.99 list price but is currently selling for $34.99. That $5 gap makes the faster unit the better value at the moment, provided a buyer’s hardware can take advantage of USB 3.2 Gen 2×2.
Both enclosures are listed for the global market. Ugreen has not announced a specific launch date, regional availability details or warranty terms. The drive itself is not included, though the brief does not state that explicitly.















1 comment